I Know how The Selfish Giant Feels (EBC- 27 weeks to go)

Sunday 28th April 2013

When the children were young bedtime stories were just such a special time. An often read book was The Selfish Giant by Oscar Wilde. I always struggled to convey how horrid it must have been when the poor weather stayed in the garden – you must read it! I have an idea now because spring training is no different to winter training. The weather is still poor.  In fact I’m still struggling  against it. I need to give myself a good talking to. In all the weeks since I started in late February there has been just one clear, sunny day with no snow or water all over the land. Today was simply awful and I have received a severe telling off for walking in the mist, (it just came down) not looking carefully at the weather forecast or making  correct preparations for poor weather. This includes extra clothing, plenty of food, checking all the equipment is working and leaving the route in a place where it can be readily accessible. Just for the record Thorpe Fell and Barden Moor are not the place to be when cloud comes down, along with horizontal sleet and high, icy wind. Yuck 21 miles of hell.

At least all my equipment is being severely tested,  both the things I have already and the new ones bought this week. I ordered a whole lot of tops, trousers and head gear from Skogstad (www.skogstad.co.uk). I really like it, the fit is perfect and it is good quality at a reasonable price. From all this I realise I need a really good top coat, the two I have at the moment are good for average weather, cold or wet or breezy. In really bad weather, very cold, very, very wet and very windy I need something that will be more resistant to these extremes. I could feel the wind coming  through my outer layer quite badly today.

Stats of the week. Weight loss, one pound! Yoga classes, none. Physio class, one, I have a locked lower back. Dr was quite concerned about this, especially if I had to do any carrying on way to EBC. Self appointed physio has given excellent advice and programme for stretches to work on. Apparently it is important to stretch after every walk, hike etc no matter how short. That was an earlier telling off. Finally 4 walks. Hours walked, 17:9hrs, miles 51:7. Getting near to the maximums now. 2:1 mls in ascents. I do feel tired Sunday nights!

My Specsavers event last week and the subsequent press coverage has brought nearly £150. Thanks to all those who have made a contribution. Beetle Drive on Friday, along with a raffle and supper. It will be really good fun!

Please pass the blog address,www.charleseverestbasecamp.wordpress.com,on to your friends, they might read it, and support Macmillan.They could do this by visiting http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

