Whatever the Weather Walking(EBC-34 weeks to go)

Sunday 10th March 2013

It’s still snowing here, what is going on! Despite that a further week of progress, I have written out a training plan up to October and split it into three blocks. The first one, running until early June,  includes walking/hiking, circuit training, my yoga, running and exercises. After this block has finished I will reassess how fit I am and run the second block accordingly. Training wise, quite a good week.  Weight lost: eight ounces. Too much bread and cake still!! One yoga session, it’s hard. Three exercise circuits. One run, still shattering, but I ran half a mile further. Three walks, including a very long one, and one in rain all the way; total time 10 hours 51 mins, distance 25:3 miles (the .3 is very important!) and 5058ft height climbed in ascents over week. This feels a little easier. How do I know all this the free ‘Cardio Trainer’ app on my phone it’s brilliant even in the hills and valleys.

It now seems fairly clear to me that the weather is not going to help at all with preparing for this trek! Lesson of the week. I am going to be walking in poor weather for much of the next six months so I’ll ignore it unless I’m scaling some of the higher peaks in the Lakes, Snowdonia or Scotland.

A quiet week fundraising but I made some good contacts at a coffee morning. I also saw how much work goes into preparing and running one of these events. It isn’t just about brewing a cup of coffee and dropping a piece of cake on a plate. Oh no! So thank you to everyone from the Otley Macmillan Group who took time to talk to me on Friday. Next week Rotary Charity Table Top event in Ilkey.

Macmillan have launched ‘The essential work and cancertoolkit for employers,’ so organisations can keep all their key resources about work and cancer in one place. To order a tool kit for the first time  visit Macmillan.org.uk/worktoolkit where you can also sign up for their work and cancer e-newsletters.

Please pass the blog address, http://www.charleseverestbasecamp.wordpress.com,on to your friends, they might read it, they might want to support Macmillan.They could do this by visiting http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard

Until next week. Goodbye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

