Picking up the Pace (Everest Base Camp – 35 weeks to go)

Sunday 3rd March 2013

A week of progress, it’s amazing how a little bit of sunshine makes people smile. I was coming out of Sainburys this week and there were actually smiles on faces as they came into the sun from the store. We don’t ask for much really. I also have a smile on my face ‘cos some progress has been made. Weight lost three pounds eight ounces. Hurrah! One yoga session, I was far more flexible this week! Three exercise circuits, three proper stretching sessions -I feel like a sloth that has been sleeping for three years and has just woken up, the creaking, clattering and crunching of bones and muscles has to be heard to be believed. (However my unpaid personal physio seems quite pleased!) One run, shattering. Four walks, total time 8 hours 50 mins, 23 miles and 4600ft: height climbed. I slept like a contended baby last night.  All recorded and mapped by the Cardio Vac app on my phone, it’s brilliant and I can look at it on-line as well. HfH (Hounds from Hell) one, but on a good lead with a very responsible man. WfH (Woman from Hell) one, she should not have had her three dogs off the lead walking by a field of pregnant sheep and she should not have allowed one of them to chase the sheep across the pastures for about three minutes!! Yes I know I sound like ‘Angry from Tunbridge Wells’…I am sixty!!

Thing I learnt this week, it is harder to plan walking for time rather than distance. My initial ideas meant I would have been walking for only half the necessary time each day this week. This training could be fun.

Now an answer to a question somebody put to me this weekend about why am I always going on about Bobby Moore. (There was another article this week about him, this time on the BBC website, http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21554794. Like Jeff Powell’s it is worth reading. Really, you don’t have to like football!) I go on about him because Bobby Moore was my childhood hero, I always wanted to play football like he did. I wanted to the kind of  person he was. He died twenty years ago last week he was only 51 and that was really tragic.  He died of cancer. I go on about him not because of what he did on that glorious never to be forgotten, where were you moment in the summer of 1966 but because of what happened to him nearly thirty years after.  I go on about him to raise the awareness that it can and does happen to anyone. I want to raise some money so Macmillan can help anyone who is struggling with this disease and so there will be fewer Bobby Moores, or a neighbour, dying prematurely. Simple really.  

Events planned this week to raise some more money include a Beetle Drive, two coffee mornings and attending at a local table top event. I am well over 50% of the way there now. Thank you. To all the contributors over the last week. Thank you.

Finally, congratulations to Nicola now running the Great North Run for Cancer Research. Keep up the training. Great cause. To the person who might by donating all her hair to the children’s charity  little princesses (charity that provides wigs to children having chemotherapy; see www.littleprincesses.org.uk/ ) if she reaches her fund raising target for EBC…you’ve had it, it’s going!! Well done. I would join you but alas time has already interfered there.

ps Where was I on that day in 1966? Skegness, in a caravan! I was so happy.

Please pass the blog address, http://www.charleseverestbasecamp.wordpress.com,on to your friends, they might read it, they might want to support Macmillan. They could do this by visiting http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard

Until next week. Goodbye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picking up the Pace (Everest Base Camp – 35 weeks to go)

  1. mrsmyagi says:

    i fear you may be right about the hair!!

Leave a Reply

