EBC- Hounds From Hell (40 weeks to go)

Sunday 27th January 2013

A steady week for training, one long walk in the deepish snow on Tuesday and two others leads to ten miles in total. Have been exercising brain by planning more fundraising events, (very taxing…for me). Weight still going up, oops! Generally though I was feeling OK, until yesterday, when I was asked if I was taking pills to counter  altitude sickness. Whoaaaaa! What? This whole subject is beginning to settle badly in my head, I can’t find any real info about it, ie from someone who has done this trek or similar and, as I don’t know Chris Moyles, I’m reliant on the web, which hasn’t been too helpful. Will keep you posted about this, unless you know anything about it.

Hounds from Hell. What are they you may ask? Is he writing about a new horror book. Indeed not. You may live with a hound from hell. You may not know it. The chances are that you will never know it. It may be the most placid creature on earth…until it sees, smells or meets me. It will then turn into a Hound from Hell. So moment of the week meeting, The Dog! Now never let it be said that I am squeamish or wimpy. It’s true I’m glad that we don’t have National Service any more (although plenty of people in the past have told me a dose of it would do me good. Needless to say I disagreed!). I could never be a Doctor, Dentist or Vet, (too much of well… all sorts). I have nothing but admiration for steeple jacks (high level work). However there is one thing that really sets me off, usually in the opposite direction. Dogs. I love dogs really. I grew up with Molly, the dog living in our pub near York bite you as soon as look at you but never me; we had our own dog in the new house, Beagle and I’ve always wanted a Golden Retriever. But, whenever we are out hiking, walking or whatever I can guarantee, whether we are somewhere busy, Great Gable or deserted, large stretches of The Dales or in the mountains, in Chamonix, we will come across a ‘Hound from Hell.’ This, usually, will be something the size of, or actually, a huge sheep dog, invariably with big teeth, big mouth and a built in radar that always, always, always comes straight towards me. This happens whether there are two people there or twenty. In fact the more the merrier as far as the dog is concerned, they seem to know an audience is required to complete the humiliation. I have seen them ignore all other targets, even when I am at the back and out of its sight.

I digress. Coming out of the fields on Tuesday no one appeared to be around suddenly out of nowhere, I swear I looked for the TARDIS, there was, behind us, a lady with a very, very big dog. An Alsatian.  The next thing I knew it was there, at my feet, looking up at me, a nano second later it had it’s front paws on my shoulders and was looking down at me and slobbering! Seconds later it was down and looking at me with what can only be described as a wry, knowing smile, I know it was thinking ‘He he..Gotcha.’ On this occasion the dog turned out to be wonderfully friendly and was merely trying to be mates. This was no consolation I was already in another cold sweat. (I gulped a big glass of my friend from Dalwhinnie when we got home, an hour later, to calm everything down.)

We never met anything else in the gathering dusk all the way home. I wonder if they have dogs in Nepal, but I doubt it will matter. I could be mistaken but I’m sure I read in the paper that thousands of dogs were trekking themselves across Asia and in the direction of Lukla and are due to arrive in November!

This all leads me to what I have learnt this week. Never turn your back on a dog, even when you are young. I did this when I was about eight years old and Laddie,  despite been on a rope and in his kennel took a giant leap for dogs, buried his teeth in my backside and took a  part from the aforementioned bottom!!! Naturally there was an audience.

Important event of the week. I have made contact with other people who will be going in November, via the internet. This has been interesting and racks up the excitement a little more. Thanks especially to those who have set up a special page for The Team.

Today is the end of Macmillan Cancer Talk Week. Receiving a cancer diagnosis is hard. Talking about it can be even harder. This year between 21 – 27 January Cancer Talk Week focused on families, how they can be there to support you or sometimes be the hardest people to talk to. 

Karen, a Macmillan family support worker talks about her work providing emotional support for patients and family members to get some control in the chaos of treatment.

See http://www.macmillan.org.uk/GetInvolved/CancertalkWeek/CancertalkWeek.aspx

Pass the blog address on to your friends, they might read it, they might support  “The Quest.”

Until next week. Goodbye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

