EBC- A New Year A-Z (43 weeks to go)

Sunday 6th January 2013

Here is an A-Z loosely connected to 2013. They are just linked to my Quest.

A is for Aaaaarggggh. Where are my walking boots. Quick! Quick!!

B is for Base Camp. A target for 2013.

C is for Crazy Charlie. Me…all year.

D is for Dad. He still does not believe I am going to go on this Trek.

E is for Everest. The biggest of them all. Let’s hope the view is good.

F is for Fundraising Events. The total is slowly growing, towards the target.

G is for Goal. Mine is to raise loads of money for Macmillan (+ see B above).

G is for George Mallory. A fascinating inspiration!If only I was thirty years younger. 2013 started with him in The Hotspur comic in the 1960’s.

H is for Height. Everest Base Camp is approximately 17,598ft high.

I is for Irving. Did Sandy Irving, with George, make it to the top of Everest in 1924? What will happen in 2013?

J is for Jog. I used to do that long ago, in a land far away, to a place long forgotten! Where are my running shoes? Quick! Quick!!

K is for Kathmandu. Even the name gives me colly wobbles.

L is for Lukla. A starting point in November.

M is for Macmillan. They always need what support we can give them! All year.

N is for No Turning Back. Fundraising or trekking.

O is for Organisation. I need to be very organised this year. So I bought a diary..but there is nothing in it. I keep forgetting to write anything down.

P is Poles. Yep! I’m using walking poles now. Hope they keep me upright and fit.

Q is for Quest. It’s my quest of a lifetime.

R is for Remembering. How to navigate with a compass. In case I get lost. It is possible, no really it is definitely possible. Really it is!!

S is for Self Appointed Trainer. Still no contact. He’s been sacked. I’m in control now!

T is for Training. It has begun! Five mile walk and ten miles on the bike today.

U is for Unforgettable. It will be that kind of year. One way or another.

V is for Voluntary Contributions. 98% of Macmillan’s income in 2011.

W is for World’s Biggest Coffee Morning. It raised nearly £14 million in 2012. 2013?

X is for Xeranthemum. An annual herb with everlasting composite flowers. A bit like me really. (That’s my ‘Work that one out ‘ for this week!!)

Y is for Years. It will be sixty this year. Again aaaaarrrggghhhh!

Z is for Zzzzzzz. This afternoon’s walk (five miles on the flat) tired me out.

You never know what is going to happen do you but it all looks to be a more exciting year than for many years. Especially October and then November. There will be certainly be sweat and tears. Most of all let’s hope there is joy and happiness. I’ll stop there before I start making pious comments.

My Justgiving address is http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard

ps pass this and the blog address on to your friends, they might read it, they might support  ”The Quest.” Happy New Year.

Until next week. Goodbye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

