EBC -The Turn of the Year (44 weeks to go)

Sunday 30th December 2012

What a year and we’ve not even really started yet, what will next year be like?

…So

Things I’ve learnt this year.

1. Macmillan is an important charity. (There are so many but this is a biggie)

2. I should support a charity and keep on doing it. (Not just for a month or two)

3. Lots of people are affected by cancer and besides the obvious help they need lots of support. (Macmillan provides this)

4. There are lots of inspiring people out there quietly doing a wonderful job. (They don’t even like to take about it. They just do it)

5. Cancer can touch us all. (Believe me)

6. There is lots of good in this world. (Look. It is all around you)

7. I am inspired by what others do and achieve. (Bradley Wiggins made me smile and I was happy for him. It was … inspiring)

8. Absolute strangers have been very kind and supportive. (See 6 above)

9. Fundraising can be great fun. (But I’m still a terrible baker!)

10. Mount Everest is very high. (Base Camp is not as high but it is a long way)

People I need to Thank.

1. Everyone who has donated to ‘The Quest.’ (Thanks you’ll never really know how grateful I am or how useful the money will be to Macmillan)

2. All those who have given advice, help and time. (I may be back again in 2013!)

3. Self appointed trainer for leaving me alone over Christmas and the New Year. (I will pay in 2013. I know this!)

And so to -2013…….

I will

1. Move out of my comfort zone and raise some more money. (I am naturally shy)

2. Be prepared. (See 3 above!!)

3. Enjoy being 60. (After all it is the new 40!)

I was given a present for Christmas which had a message in it. Part of it was a quote from a hero of mine, George Mallory, who, incidentally, and in my opinion, did make it to the top of Everest in the 1920s. It is just that nobody as yet, has found the camera  to prove it!  – I can’t find where the quote came from and I’ve read all his books but I thought it helped to summarise how I should approach the future, as well as next year. He said:

“…What we get from this adventure is just sheer joy. And joy is, after all, the end of life We do not live to eat and make money. We eat and make money to enjoy life. That is what life means and what life is for.”

I hope I am as philosophical in one year’s time. But do you know the funny thing is that as time goes on the joy is coming from raising as much money as I can for Macmillan, the less important it seems to be going on the trek. Explain that to me someone. 

So far I am 40% of the way towards the target for Macmillan, therefore still a long way to go in the next year. If you can drum up support from friends etc all contributions will be gratefully received.

As 2013 rapidly approaches, a year when it will rain less and the sun will shine, I will say thanks to all readers of this blog.  HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL OF YOU.

My Justgiving address is http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard

ps pass this and the blog address on to your friends, they might read it, they might support  “The Quest.”

Until next week. Goodbye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

