EBC with Macmillan (50 weeks to go)

Sunday 18th November 2012

A very good week, despite incessant rain. Brain games must be having some effect, I actually completed all of them and in good time. According to the book I have therefore exercised all of my brain! This must be a first, I can already hear some people saying that is an impossibility, fresh air cannot be exercised! No running this week. Brain ache, so needed rest! This has upset my ‘self- appointed’ trainer who is already telling me ‘You can’t leave it all until next year!’

Even better though was the fact that I have made some valuable contacts at, and through, Macmillan. Let me explain something, as far as raising money goes I am a complete beginner. One month ago this was all completely new to me. Sponsoring people at £1 a mile or minute, dropping money in a tin on the High Street or at the local supermarket was just about the extent of my experience. So I was pleased when three very positive people were generous with their time, helpful,  patient and understanding. I now have letters of support and verification, so people know I’m doing this for Macmillan and not personal gain. One contact in particular was like a breath of fresh air, immediately I was energised, invigorated and enthused, I was having a very serious wobble about the whole idea this time last week! She came up with ideas I never dreamed of, offered support from people I’ve not even met and in places I did not know were possible. This just proved what I already suspected that those who regularly carry out fundraising activities are some special people. I had not realised exactly how much time and effort is needed just to organise simple events. That’s just the point really they are not that simple. So a big thank you to those contacts this week I am now  aware about what is required to raise some money and how it can be done. (Makes me marvel at those people who raised all that money for Children In Need.) So, lesson for this week; as a fund raiser you cannot be a Billy No Mates. Make lots of contacts early on through the organisation you are working with and use their valuable expertise to guide you in planning, organising and enacting events.

Info for the week. Macmillan have a Support Line free on 0808 808 00 00 (Monday-Friday, 9 am-8 pm) or visit macmillan.org.uk.(My Justgiving address is http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard.)

Until next week. Goodbye.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

