EBC with Macmillan (52 weeks to go!)

Sunday 4th November 2012

One year to go before the Trek to Everest Base Camp (EBC). For some reason this is suddenly even more exciting. I have received a final letter of confirmation from Macmillan, so it is all systems go to raise the money and think about my fitness for the adventure ahead. Included in their detailed pack was a diary card for fundraising which begins in January and runs through to the end of next year. Am filling it in now.

Three things strike me after reading my Macmillan pack. Included  is a ‘training’ programme that lasts for about four months!! It seems  like more than a stroll round  one or two hills in The Lakes or Snowdonia. This will mean of course that my programme will have to be double that time  since I have put on weight since the summer and I an therefore very unfit. Although I am not a fair weather walker I can easily turn over in bed if the rain is pouring down on a proposed walking day. That habit will have to go, as will the one fuelled by a little person sat on my shoulder! He/she (I am not sure which?!), often says ‘There is a breeze, it’s only a breeze, but do you really want to go out on your bike for twenty miles. NO, I thought not, have a cup of tea, leave it until tomorrow!’ Secondly, my thinking needs to improve.  I have taken to improve my self motivational skills and brain activity. I am attempting to do ‘Brain Games ‘ on a a daily basis. I say daily and at present that is too literal. They are so hard it’s taking me hours. Finally I need to inspire and stir myself. I am already hooked on activity books. Chris Bonnington and Ellen MacArthur have  stirred my imagination.  However I’m still not sure what really motivates them to do what they do or, to be more up to date, what made  Felix Baumgartner jump out of his capsule at 128,00 feet? I need some of what these people have just to get on the plane!

In the meantime two facts from the Macmillan pack. Today two million people are living with cancer in the UK. More than one in three of us will get cancer at some stage of our lives.

(My Justgiving address is http://www.justgiving.com/Charles-Appleyard.)

Until next time. Goodbye.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

